A challenge like no other

Hi everyone, it’s great to be part of this amazing community, I am honestly shocked on how friendly this community is. I have been working in IT for the past 18 years for the same small company and it’s been great for me. I am now 37 and although I have learnt a lot of skills and techniques there I feel I am becoming more and more unemployable everyday. The job pays well, I have good hours, but I know if the company ceases to trade the skills I have won’t get my anywhere near the same wage. I don’t have a degree as I started working when I was 19, it was a young company and we have worked so hard on different technologies to grow to a larger scale.

I started my career using adobe flash, moved on to video editing, a little web (setting up servers , domain etc), working with developers overseas on projects we won and then design for social media. Whatever I have learnt has always been great for the company and kept us afloat however I feel I am a little jack of trades and master of none. I know that I have a job here for life but I feel should anything happen to the owner I would need to start at a junior level somewhere else and with children to support, I really need to gain skills which interest me and something I feel I could excel at. I love trying to make software work perfectly and I feel I have good analytical skill, communication skills and a willingness to learn.

I feel it’s time to step out into the world, meet new people and see how far I can go.

4 Likes

Being a “jack of all trades master of none” is not as bad as it looks like. You can apply for all sorts of junior positions, or even go for project manager position.

Downside is of course lower paycheck for junior positions, so you should decide what is your biggest passion from all those skills and start working on mastering it.

1 Like

Hi Taz,