Changing career into testing

Hi everyone,

My name is Youssef, it is an honor to post and talk to you here. I needed some guidance from the testing experts out there.

I will start with my situation. I am currently residing in Canada and I have a master’s degree in Geology which should get me working in oil and gas industry. For several reasons, I wanted to do a career shift and do software testing. I have been studying vigorously for like 4 months now, I even got the ISTQB foundation and agile level certificates. I studied java basics and I am actively studying Selenium on udemy - which I think I am at a pretty good level at now - in addition to working as a freelancer on uTest.com (not really in it for the money, I just want the experience) and yeah I am working full-time at a restaurant.

I needed advice on what would make me more employable. Obviously I have no formal CS education or degrees, but I know that testing doesn’t necessarily require that. I plan on starting an API testing course on udemy pretty soon while continuously working on Selenium and automation. But what should I do more? I applied for some jobs but got no response, and although many of the jobs I applied to have a description that fits my current skill set, I just feel that employers skip my resume as I am only a few months old in the testing field. I saw a career coach and she suggested contacting testers on LinkedIn for an information interview so I did that but nobody answered. What do you guys think my next step(s) should be in order to land a job or make my resume more appealing to the recruiters?

Thanks a lot.

Hello!

I will try and briefly explain how I got into software testing and some ways it could apply to your situation.

My career looks like this: call centre worker - helpdesk worker - software tester.