G'day Folks from Brisbane, Australia!

G’day folks! :wave: :kangaroo:

I’m Dylan; I’ve been a tester since my first job way back in 2007. Back then I was cobbling together a Selenium-powered JUnit performance testing suite for a team of non-technical quality folks. Fast Forward a “few” years, and I’m currently the Manager of Developer Relations at Sauce Labs! Before this, I was a Software Engineer in the Support Team at Sauce, so I know a tiny bit about a lot of testing tools.

As a coder, I mainly create Opinions:tm:, and as a side-effect I get some Ruby and Javascript code ;). I’ve spent way too much of my life debugging Selenium issues, and currently I’m playing around with Playwright and Cypress, as well as investigating the different quality toolchain options. If you’re keen, you can follow my gentle ranting over on Twitter.

Outside of Dev; My husband and I just bought our first house and I’ve been excitedly working on the garden, where I’m trying to grown weirdo vegetables. It’s keeping my bees happy (Oh yeah, I’m a hobby beekeeper as well). I love to go camping, play boardgames, cook, bake and ferment things.

I’m also back at uni, doing a Bachelor of Language and Linguistics, majoring in Japanese and trying to convince the uni to let me minor in Auslan, the Australian Sign Language. This is my second degree; If I finish it, I’m planning to do a Masters and then maybe a PhD in Linguistics? It Depends :tm:

Looking forward to chatting with more of y’all, helping with any Sauce Labs questions and learning what the industry is up to!

5 Likes

Welcome to MoT @dylanlacey !

Congratz!

Some big plans ahead!

Do you still do some coding these days or purely Managing?
If No: don’t you miss it? :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes