What features are needed for application testing tools?

Hi. I got a task from my PM to test our application and I am kind of very new to it. So I am trying to figure out how I can simplify my testing. Maybe I can find some extra tools for this purpose. But what features can really help me to test our app (desktop and mobile versions)? What should I look up into these tools?

1 Like

Hi Sam, what is your context, what actual problem are you trying to solve?

In a prior job I used to struggle a lot with choosing tools, mainly because of some bad tool experiences. I have even used codeless automation tools, and found that at scale they also struggle if you are inexperienced at using them. I feel the pain of people who hunt for tools to help them test “better”. We see a lot of tool abuse as testers, tools deployed in ways they never should be. All because we are not focused on the right goal quite often. So… I’d like instead to share a story. My grandfather was a carpenter, he built his own house actually. I was also interested in making things as a kid, but by then he had given it all up and gotten into dog training, so he never taught me much carpentry. Once he showed me the computer program he helped design to design roof trusses and how load bearing calculations worked on a commodore 64. He did however teach me a lot about life in the little bit of carpentry he did teach me. He taught me how to hold a hammer.