Automate Alexa voice skill testing

Hi,

I am new to automation.

I would like to automate the testing of Alexa voice skill.

These skills are written using the Python SDK.

Any suggestion which tool I can use?

1 Like

Hi Archi,
In UiPath Studio, voice calls can be automated by simply integrating with respective activity package.

2 Likes

Thanks for the response @vijitha but the Alexa skill is not a voice call.

You can consider it as an app that follows your question and responds either with a question or answer.

Example, "Alexa, what’s the weekend forecast for New Delhi?

1 Like

I’m was also assuming you were talking about the skills themselves, not the voice part, this is all done at an API level. The voice component is probably only useful as an end-2-end for sanity I guess.
If I were trying to do this, I would explore using the ASK commandline tool first, and then decide if using the amazon Skill API is a good surface to test with. I am assuming the skill API is going to be useful for enabling and disabling the skill as part of the test environment though.

You will also want to cover voice command using a WAV file later, to verify that publishing to production works as a simple daily-smoke-test. This sounds like a totally cool project, do let us know what you learn.

Hi @conrad.braam

The Voice component is important because people speak the same word in different dialects and accents. Alexa may understand the same word differently because of different dialects and accents.
For example, as per the model the question should have “here”, but Alexa listens “hear” or “ear” then it will check for the same in the model and upon not getting a matching question it might exit the skill or ask once more the same question.
We have to check and provide as many samples as possible to Alexa to train its model.

I just wanted automation for checking the dialog flow for sanity.

When I was doing this in 2019, I used the ASK CLI to autmoate.