Cypress intersepting Google maps requests

googleMaps
Hi. I’m new to Cypress and testing in general. I am working for a small start-up and was asked to minimize amount of google requests done by tests.
My first attempt would be:

cy.intercept(“GET”, “https://maps.googleapis.com/maps/api/place/js/AutocompletionService.GetPredictions*”, { fixture: ‘getpredictionsgoogle’})

But it’s not as simple. It seems like authentication happens before the first character is typed. During authentication certain token is assigned, but this token doesn’t match tokens used for prediction requests which are different after each character typed in. The process ends with get place details request.

1 Like

Welcome @antonbdnk,

I haven’t worked with Google Maps automation before but I can’t see a tonne of network traffic when searching. Instead of intercepting the request you do want, it might be easier to block/abort the ones you don’t care about - Is there a possibility to test blocked network requests in Cypress? - Stack Overflow.

Not sure how Google Maps will behave when you start blocking requests but it could work out easier. There might be a bit of trial and error involved.

1 Like

I’m not sure I understand the goal. Do you want to check the Google Maps integration?
This can be useful as a quick overview for others:

• Usage is tracked for each Product SKU.
  • A SKU is the combination of the Product API + the service or function called (for example, Places API - Place Details).
  • A product may have multiple SKUs billed at different rates (for example, Places API - Place Details; Places API - Autocomplete - Per Request).
  • SKU pricing is tiered, based on volume of use, with three tiers: 0–100,000; 100,001–500,000; 500,001+.
  • Cost is calculated by SKU Usage x Price per each use.

Some ways to go about it: