How to automate Toggle On/Off button by Selenium Java?

Hi,
I am new to automation. Can’t seem to automate Toggle button in Selenium. Not being able to find its locator as id is dynamic. Can anyone help?

Context: I would like to test whether the Toggle is ON/OFF for all the rows in the table.

Following is the HTML of that toggle.

<div _ngcontent-xlo-c203="" class="custom-control custom-switch" xpath="1"><input _ngcontent-xlo-c203="" type="checkbox" class="custom-control-input" id="assigned_13310828"><label _ngcontent-xlo-c203="" class="custom-control-label" for="assigned_13310828"></label></div>
1 Like

I think this solution with a CSS selector can work, since you got a checkbox element too:

1 Like

My best guess is to use relative locators, a feature of Selenium 4.
The first toggle button would be found like the button below the assigned label.
The second toggle button would be found like the button below the first toggle button.
Etc.

Some useful links are:

There might be other things to consider using these toggle buttons. If you are interested. then I can explain more.

2 Likes

I am assuming you are talking about this bit being dynamic, well it has to be, since it’s unique, and although I use selenium 3 only, in python for a small project I already hit this issue, and solved it by building my locator at runtime using a function to build the locator string, which takes an id as a parameter and merely builds it. This is the code I write to handle a button, but in your case, you also need a relative locator it seems. I’m not on selenium 4, but have found that writing XPATH relative locators manually is stable, but takes a few attempts. Looking forward to this being quicker myself.

# server_id is a guid
    def get_launch_button_by_id(self, server_id):
        self.log(f"Find launch button for server {server_id}")
        connect_item = 'connect-item'
        locator = Locator(By.ID, f"ppr-action-{connect_item}-id-{server_id}")