How to find a mentor!

Hi all!

Relatively new here and not sure if I’ve created this in the right place so apologies if not!

My name is Sarah (my husband and I share and account at the moment whilst I try to persuade my work to buy a membership!) and I’ve about 3-4 years of testing experience under my belt. Most of that time I’ve been the sole QA in various companies so a lot has fallen to me such as implementing automation frameworks and the like! I enjoy what I do but feel I lack the benefit of another person at a similar level who I can talk to and sound things out with to see if my thinking is on track!

So I’m on the hunt for a mentor, specifically someone who has lots of experience in implementing automation - the good, the bad and the ugly! My main concerns that I would like to discuss are how other people decide what is of value to automate. I’m a big advocate for less is more and we utilise something that Angie Jones demoed in a talk to assist us, but it would be interesting to see how others make these decision and the thinking behind them.

Would love to hear from anyone/everyone with more experience than me and open to connecting with people for mentorship stuff if it’s on offer!

Thanks for reading :grin:

3 Likes

Well Hi Sarah (& Darren) and welcome to MoT! :slight_smile:

Always happy to have a chat (written or live talk) about anything you like. :slight_smile:
Hit me up with a DM

Easy! ROI. Return On Investment.

You are not going to automate a workflow which takes 20 days to create and 5 hours to run because 1 end-user out of a million runs that workflow. You want validate your business flows first before automating. Which flows are the most important? Which are actually done by our end-users. Then you can cross-check on which level you’ll automate this. The closer to the code, the better. Also pick the right framework for it, don’t pick what someone advices or what you know. Pick the right tool for your project :wink: