Ideas on how to gently introduce a scrum team to TDD or shift left

Hi everyone!

I am currently a graduate tester in a scrum team, and am about 1.5 years into my career as a tester.

In my company we have had quite a lot of discussion about whole team testing over the last few weeks. In general my scrum team are quite good at this, they consider the most appropriate automated tests to write and help with manual testing when required. We are not perfect however, and I am looking for new ideas and processes to further improve the quality of our work.

I feel like at the minute defects are discovered too late in the development process, and that we could shift left and discover these earlier. I also feel like sometimes not all team members understand our user stories when they pick them up, and that they become familiar with the stories while writing the code.

I’ve been doing some research into TDD, but what I have discovered is that would be a large change to how the developers work, and not something that I as a graduate tester can mandate. I’ve also read that to make TDD successful the developers need to pair with someone experienced in TDD, and I do not have anyone with such experience available.

So I would love to know if anyone has any other ideas that I might be able to bring to the scrum team? Sort of along the lines of TDD lite - if such a thing exists!

Many thanks :slight_smile:

6 Likes

It sounds like the pain point you’re trying to address is around requirements and/or stories not being easily workable? I don’t think TDD itself would help much there, and in fact, could be a lot of effort that just reinforces bad implementations/requirement misses.

Definitely focus on shifting left, but I’d be looking into more process oriented things like: