Looking for guidance in next steps of career growth

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum and looking for help to shape my career. I have around 14+ years of experience in testing. I have experience managing various testing projects but never got an opporutnity to work latest automation tools. I have equipped myself with Automation tools (through bootcamps). However never got an opporutnity to work on any latest automation tools. Currently working in legacy application testing and it looks a dead-end job. I am not motivated with current and dont see much learning curve. I am confused as to how to take my career to next level. If I plan to switch over, I do not get much calls which I assume because of 2 reasons - 1. More experience, 2. No real time Automation experience or experience in latest trending QA tools. Is there anyone in same situation as mine. Looking forward for guidance or experiences. Thanks.

4 Likes

Here are a few options that I have friends that have done to grow successfully.

1. Test Coach - Basically you help teams and organisations to level up their testing. You need good communications skills, workshop leading, understanding of how the full software development cycle works.
  2. Security Testing - Extremely technical and requires a lot of tools to master. Typically require you to program to some capacity too.
  3. Load / Performance Testing - Require a few tools too and a solid understanding of networking. Will do automation as in tools assisted testing, without having to do test automation as in Computer Based Testing.
  4. Functional Test Automation - Looks like you already have identified this.
  5. Management - A different kind of job but a popular next step for a lot of people. :slight_smile:

In my experience security testing and performance testing forces you to grow in your perception of what testing is, which might benefit any functional testing you do.

4 Likes

Hi!