Methods for test design for coming up with test scenarios

Hi all,

I’m a QA Manager who is training up a young QA team with little experience with QA (their 1st job in QA). One of the areas/skills I would like them to develop is test design, the ability to design good test cases for a good coverage without duplication.

When I first started out, I used to write too many test cases with alot of overlap which isn’t necessary a bad thing, as over testing is better under testing but soon realized that it wasn’t time effective for regression.

Here is how I approach test design for a feature/user stories:

1.) Collect requirements
2.) Map out of test scenarios in a mind map using Miro with open mind with no limits for as many scenarios as I can think of. brain dump.
3.) Using the requirements as a guide for positive scenarios (happy path) and inspire other scenarios
4.) Then I map out any non-happy path scenarios (things that most people wouldn’t do)
5.) Review and map any non-functionality scenarios if needed.
6.) I would review all of the tests to determine if they are really needed (a edit). If needed, what type of testing they would be needed for feature or regression testing? To group into these two groups. Feature is one off test for testing for the sprint whereas regression testing is for maintenance going forward.
7.) Once written in test case management, I would set the priority or regression pack field per regression test so you can design regression packs as you create your tests.

This is my approach I’ve used over the years, how do you approach your test design? What is your approach?

Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks,

Chris

Have a read over this. Probably some overlap with your thread.