Qualifications & Training

Hi All,

First time poster here.

I work as a manual tester for a big financial organization and have been here a lot of year now. In the time i have worked here i have only really studied for the ISTQB foundation test certificate which i attained some time ago and im now looking at the Agile foundation principles study and exam. I have recently gained a new found thirst for knowledge and a desire to gain more qualifications but when i look online there are literally tonnes as im sure you will all know.

I guess my question is, what are the key exams and qualifications that you would look for in a candidate applying to work at your firms and what qualifications do you hold which are relevant to your roles as testers and you feel maybe added another dimension to your thought process as a tester as well as physical skills whether that be tools or software

Sorry that’s maybe a little high level and a few questions within a question but any experience and thoughts, no matter how small would be most welcome

Thanks in advance
Matt

5 Likes

Welcome to MoT @mattskp !!

To be honest, I don’t look for certification in interviews. It’s just a piece of paper.
I rather give them an exercise and see how they work with it. Some companies still do look at certification which is ok but meh. So you’ve obtained ISTQB foundation and how much of ISTQB is actually comparable with reality?

I’m not saying you shouldn’t learn new things here, there are a lot of things to learn. I just wouldn’t focus on ISTQB but rather on something else. What I look for is how they deal with situations and what they really know about testing / QA. As long as when you can explain yourself fully in an interview, it shouldn’t be a problem. If you then start talking about ISTQB … I won’t be impressed due to it not being much like ‘reality’ if you catch my drift? (At least here in Belgium)

This picture will explain my thought process:

6 Likes