Should the development of new features or bug fixes not break the e2e tests?

Hey all. First time posting here :slight_smile:
I want to vent a little bit about a situation I am going through.

disclaimer: I am not an english native speaker, so please ignore (or please correct if you will) my mistakes :slight_smile:
I am a QA Engineer with my whole career focused on automation. 5 years.
I have worked with lots of test suites, made by other people and some created from the ground zero by me. I am mostly focused on e2e, although I can also work with api testing without any problem.

I am in the same project, for something about 2 years. But lately things are changing… There’s this new guy which is the new CTO from my client’s company. The project is passing through a lot of changes and will eventually end by the end of this year (the client doesn’t want to keep the contract anymore - for some reasons that aren’t my concern).

My job, since the beginning, was very praised by the client and by everyone from my internal team. I am not perfect, far from that, but they value a lot the QA’s work and I am really proud of it.

So, the project was going pretty well in my hands until this guy came. (he’s a pain in the ***).
I am really sorry for anyone that is going to work with him…He likes to boss around and I can see that he fails as a leader.

This week, we had a discussion where he kinda bashed me because my e2e tests have broken after a HUGE new feature was being implemented (but not really even merged yet). He said that no tests should fail and the e2e should always be reliable source to validate the application regardless the change. He said that would only be acceptable if there was a requirement change. But anything besides that, it should not break any test.