Top 3 screening questions for graduate SDET interview

I’ll be conducting some graduate interviews for an SDET role and need to come up with 3 screening questions. I’m new to this and struggling slightly as they’re graduates and may not have the expected level of knowledge. Any suggestions?

One thing I wanted to ask was their understanding of the difference between SDET and manual testing. Maybe also ask why they want to get into testing? I should explain as well, we are recruiting a graduate software developer alongside the SDET role, so I am keen to differentiate why they chose this role over the other, especially as testing isn’t something that is heavily covered at uni.

All help appreciated, thank you!

2 Likes

It can be tricky with Graduates as they will not have that vocational experience to draw from. You can however refer to their course and ask questions about that. What did they enjoy? What challenges did they have to overcome? Did they do group work and if so, what role did they have in the team? What project did they do that they are proud of? You can get a pretty good idea of how interested someone is in development and testing by how they answer those questions. Though I would also mention that for many people this will be their first interview and they may be extreamly nervous, so try and take that into account when assessing them.

3 Likes

You can asses them by giving them several scenarios and see how they provide you a solution, like for team bonding skills and adaptability, ask basic software development and testing related questions the basic they learn during their undegrad, and ask queries related to their interest in this role, why they choose to be a qa that answer will help you to understand the passion and determination they have for this role

1 Like

What do you/the team/the company want to obtain from the future SDET colleague?