Using a mock back end for UI tests

Hi all,

I’ve been trying to field a lot of questions today about what to mock and what to not in relation to some user journey/acceptance tests in Cypress.

Our product automation is very immature and we are currently trying to implement a few testing frameworks to improve our product quality and confidence. I have no experience with using a mock backend, but have a team member who is very keen that we should mock as many interactions as possible with Wiremock.

I’m interested in getting some opinions from the MOT community - is it risky to use a mock for UI tests as we aren’t truly testing the connection to the back end? I understand that using the mock will mean our tests run faster and that we get feedback quicker, but i’m cautious about going too far. Is there a rule around when real interactions should be tested?

Many thanks :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi Claudia,
That’s an excellent question and one that I have encountered myself within my team.
It makes total sense that it feels like you are reducing test coverage cause you are!
But at the same time it’s the sane thing to do. UI tests lose their value the moment they become slow, flakky or hard to maintain and inherently any dependencies other than frontend will contribute to that loss.
At the same time this leaves you with an opportunity, to replace this coverage with lower level tests that are faster, cheaper and easier to maintain.
For every request you mock, this leaves a gap that can be covered with unit or API tests if they don’t exist already.

Saying that, it’s not always easy, some companies view end-to-end tests as reassurance and hesitate to move to testing layers that they don’t understand.

3 Likes

It depends on (:wink: ) what you and your team find important.

I have recently gone another way:
On one hand we have API based automated actions and checks for our back end / business logic.