What are some different ways you've categorized 🐛s within your teams?

A few months back in my current role, we had a discussion with our technology leadership team, on what we would classify as a bug in our system. I’ve had a lot of different experiences across different teams on how we classified bugs, and the order in which they got resolved.

For example, a few years back I was on a team that would take customer reported “bugs” and we would review, and convert them to feature enhancements, which would typically not count against our “quality” metrics and would be much lower on the priority list of fixing. This typically happened, when the “Acceptance Criteria” was met but the customer still had a less than ideal experience using our system.

This lead to the discussion with my current team, where we all agreed, we shouldn’t de-prioritize user experience enhancements, and a new term was born. The Love Bug! We began categorizing poor user experiences as love bugs as this bug will prevent our customers from feeling delighted and loving our product.

This got me thinking, are there any other interesting stories or categories of bugs that you all have experienced?

Links more about my experiences
Blog Post: Bugs and Love Bugs - Tilled PayFac-as-a-Service
LoveBug Slack/Teams Emoji: lovebug - Album on Imgur

4 Likes

Generally, in the teams I’ve been in, we had 3 categories:

• bugs we’ll never fix, so delete them, or don’t even post them in the tracking system backlog;
  • bugs that we’ll fix if we have the time until the release;
  • bugs that are quite bad and should be taken a look at later, when we have the time to choose between new implementations and fixing older ones; plus priorities change, so half of these were thrown away.

We’ve been going through a couple of dozen bugs with a developer and a product manager/owner a few times per year to get aligned on the priorities. Sometimes it’s 1-2 of the 3 that have to decide how to quickly deal with new ones.