What Have You Learned About Running Automated E2E Tests Against Flutter Apps?

Hi there,

I’m going to be starting a new role as QA Lead for a company who is developing iOS and Android apps in Flutter, and the automation testing landscape is a greenfield site. As I’ve never worked with Flutter before I’m curious to find out what other people’s experiences have been, especially regarding automated E2E tests for mobile apps.

What test frameworks have worked well, and what ones not so well? E.g. Appium, the official Flutter test framework etc.

What device farm/s have you used and how did they work out? E.g. local real devices in the office, a cloud-based solution etc.

What CI/CD quirks did you discover?

Any other insights would be welcome too. Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

Dean

2 Likes

Welcome back @weetabixhands . I’m keen to know too, we have a bit of jetpack/flutter code in one of our apps - it’s all a confusing landscape sometimes for testers. Not tried the Flutter testing tool yet, aaaand because we have a single hybrid browser launch step in one of the user journeys, I’m reticent to start over. Does flutter drive Chrome well and robustly alongside apps?

The devs want to rewrite the UI in flutter, which I’m a strong believer in doing, so keen to hear of people’s Flutter experiences.

I’m experimenting with Patrol at the moment.

It expands on the flutter integration test layer but drops the find lines which makes the code cleaner and it also adds in the ability to to interact with the native OS which is a bit of a gap with the flutter integration tests.

Its a very early look so far so I’ve not hooked it up to CI yet but likely will look at something like browser stack for this.