What's wrong with Test Driven Development?

In a recent webinar on test automation trends for 2018, there was a question and some discussion about BDD and TDD, in which Gil Tayar said “nobody mentioned TDD which from my point of view is a good thing”. I think the sentiment was that as long as you’re testing you’re fine and not to worry about adhering strictly to TDD.

But it did make me wonder: what do testers think of TDD? Is it wonderful when done right or completely overrated? Maybe it’s not worth extra effort, or doesn’t add anything, or has some specific drawbacks even when done correctly?

I have no direct experience with it, but usually when I hear it mentioned it seems to be in a way that positions it as an ideal that nobody ever achieves, which is why the comment suggesting it’s not even worth mentioning struck me as interesting.

1 Like

I may be in a lonely group of one with this opinion but I think TDD is largely tangential to the work that we do (those who directly test APIs and white box testers who write unit tests probably exempted). It traditionally states that developers write their unit tests and their methods interfaces before writing their implementation - utilising the principle of “red, green, refactor”. Done properly, it is a really good practice, however a bit too low level for the work most of us do.

It is really more of a code quality and design technique.

7 Likes