30 Days of API Testing - Day 24: Share the best API bug you’ve found

I’m a newbie in API testing and have not yet done any reality API testing task. Hope to see many of interesting bugs/defects from the experience members so that I can learn from them :blush:.

1 Like

Can’t think the best but I have found but can share the typical pattern of issues I have found.

• ‪Test nulls and empty strings, these have a habitat of causing issues ;).
  • Test with Unicode characters, ensure they are correctly saved to the database.
  • Test mandatory and optional parameters, in particular test with just mandatory values.
  • Ensure correct status codes are returned, you will find false positives e.g a 500 being returned as a 200.
  • experiment with data types, if an integer is expected what happens when you use a string.
  • combination errors: test two errors at once e.g invalid account id and invalid customer id, only one error code and error message can returne, is the most relevant status code and error message returned.

Use heuristics

• CRUD, ensure the API can create, read, update, read, delete and read to ensure the data is actual deleted
  • sequence - change the sequence of your CRUD tests
  • 0,1, many - test the api where there is no data, just one item and lots items

Security
You don’t need to be an expert to do some basic checks
can you use the API without authentication header?
Look at the security headers, are there any settings that could be improved?
If an API requires an account and customer id, test if you have a use a customer if from a different account, can you access the data?

Performance
Performance: have a look at the network tab in chrome dev tools, a typical simple get should return in hundreds of miliseconds, if not explore what it’s doing.
Use a tool like jmeter to some further testing.

Reliability

• what happens when the service is down before you being to process data or when data is being processed?