30 Days of API Testing - Day 25: Security is important in APIs, how are you security testing your APIs?

Here is an article about API Security Testing. Some simple rules for API testing:

• For a given input, the API must provide the expected output
  • Inputs must appear within a specific range for the most part, so values outside the range must be rejected
  • Inputs of an incorrect type must be rejected
  • Any input that is null (empty), when a null is unacceptable, must be rejected
  • Inputs of an incorrect size must be rejected
2 Likes

Actually I’m not an expert in security of api. But I want to write about one simple thing. When we test security of any api we should know on what side of system Authentication&Data validation is performed. Usually Authentication is a server side task, but Data validation can be done both on client or server side.

1 Like

From the participants on Twitter:

This is also an interesting read on the topic from the folks at API Fortress

I have not worked real API security project yet. However, I research API security and I summary about ‘how are you security testing your APIs’:

• Always use HTTPS to protect sensitive data (authentication credentials, API Keys, etc.) in transit.
  • Use Password Hash
  • GET methods are an easy target for attackers. So never perform an operation that changes the state of your application in a GET method
  • Make sure your API is not vulnerable to XSS (Cross-Site Scripting) attacks.
  • Sign JWT (JSON Web Tokens) securely preferably using secrets.
  • Any input or data being imported may also end up being inserted into your database, so make sure your application is protected against SQL Injection attacks.
  • Do not put any sensitive information in the URL params as they can be logged by servers. Put them in the request header or body.
4 Likes