30 Days of API Testing - Day 9: Share some tools we can use to discover what API calls our applications are making

As a mobile testing engineer I usually use Charles or Fiddler to discover what API calls my client application make and what responses it receive from the server. If I need to verify some requests from outside servise to my server I use Postman. Both Charles and Postman afford to manipulate (change) sending data when it is required in tests. When I want to explore requests\response from\to admin part of backend I use devpanel in browser (can be opened by pressing F12).

2 Likes

I am also using Browser “Developer tools” and fiddler to find, and analyse API calls from my application.

But there is a catch : Our application can make 2 types of API calls.

1. C2S (Client to Server API calls which is captured in Fiddler & DevTools of Browser).

2. S2S (Server to Server API calls where Fiddler & DevTools may not necessarily captures those calls as it is purely S2S call. (You can find some details to know about s2s calls and its usage “https://developer.oculus.com/documentation/platform/1.13/concepts/pgsg-s2s-basics/” ).

So, Here I am more interested to know Is there any tools to discover what are all S2S calls our applications are making :thinking:

5 Likes

I’ll just paste in here what I put in another post:
I use a variety of tools to discover what API calls my application is making:

• Fiddler/Charles/etc can show me what my app is calling directly
  • browser dev tools - Network tab can also show me what my app is calling directly
  • REST services can also have a Swagger or OpenAPI document available; SOAP services can have a WSDL - these tell you all kinds of things, and with Swagger/OpenAPI you can use them for manual testing as well
  • I can look at the code as well - Controllers tell me how my application handles API calls, and I can see what other code is using those controllers; Models tell me what data the API handles