Tools use to discover what API calls our applications are making

Hello,

I am a newbie in API testing, I am following 30 Days of API Testing challenge. The challenge 9th asks about sharing some tools we can use to discover what API calls our applications are making. However, I am not clear about the differences between a API testing tool and a tool uses to discover API calls. Could anyone give me explanations and example about the tool uses to discover API?

Thanks,
Duong

1 Like

New to API testing, also on the same challenge as @oceannguyen!

What’s the difference between this and what something like fiddler does? It does show me POST, GET, etc. requests. You can send API requests as well, but it seems its main benefit is looking at them.

1 Like

I’m a newbie api testing too. I’m convinced that every tool has “primary” purpose (ex. Fiddler\Charles - capturing network traffic) as many software testing engineers usually use them in such a way and “other features” like composing requests (somebody use it but not so broad as “primary” one). Many tools have similar features. What tool to use, first of all, depends on what testing task you are performing at the current moment, not on type of testing.

1 Like

I use a variety of tools to discover what API calls my application is making:

• Fiddler/Charles/etc can show me what my app is calling directly
  • browser dev tools - Network tab can also show me what my app is calling directly
  • REST services can also have a Swagger or OpenAPI document available; SOAP services can have a WSDL - these tell you all kinds of things, and with Swagger/OpenAPI you can use them for manual testing as well
  • I can look at the code as well - Controllers tell me how my application handles API calls, and I can see what other code is using those controllers; Models tell me what data the API handles
7 Likes