Add Positivity Into Your Testing

(Heather) #1

I read a medium post recently that referenced something @friendlytester said at RTC:

It sparked a lot of ideas for me. This or a variation of this is something I see come up often

How do you stay positive testing when you feel like you’re mostly bringing bad news?

The author of the above post admits to being one of these people, struggling to find the positivity. Some answers to this may seem very obvious but when you’re in that negative headspace, it can be very difficult to see the good.

So my request for you: how would you advise people to bring positivity into their testing? I appreciate there is no one size fits all model but some suggestions for people to try would be an awesome start.

(Gem) #2

I really do like the idea that I’m a copy editor. I’m not telling devs bad news, I’m making them look good.

Other than that, it can get really hard. I find it really hard sometimes when I’m the one asking the hard questions and pointing out things that can go wrong, so I try and communicate with my team outside of those things so that’s not my entire work persona. I also make sure to compliment people on work well done.

(Alan) #3

I’m already a very positive person and I have always looked at bugs as opportunities to learn something new. Mistakes are incredibly valuable as a resource to teach others on things to avoid. Reframing is key here its easy to make a problem bigger than it is and its better to just reflect there will be more bugs in the future.

(Ady) #4

I’ve always felt it was part of my job to be a quality advocate so I’ve never really been negative in my feedback. I actually did a talk at Leeds Tester gathering about a situation back in 2005 where both testers and developers were measured on bugs recorded. Everything became an argument so I dropped ‘bugs’ and started talking about behaviour and whether it was desirable or not.