Career Gap and Guidance

Hello Everyone :wave:

My name is Haseena

I’ve 4 years of testing experience and 6 years of career gap due to kids😩. Now I want to start back my career as a junior tester. I see there are lots of changes in testing trends and I have no idea how and where to start.

I have already started reading posts in MOT but still looking for guidance. Any Mums here who started their career after a long break? Any success stories?

Please pour your suggestions :pray:

TIA
Haseena

3 Likes

My wife went back to work after a year break, due to the new-born. Everything went fine, she even changed companies. She got accepted as a senior again, so I don’t think you need to apply as a junior, after having a 4 years of XP. Just maybe take a few months (as much as you need) to remind yourself about testing related lore. Good luck!

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply @mirza . What about my 6 years career gap?? Do companies accept such huge career gaps?

Tia

2 Likes

Companies want (and should) you to do stuff so they can reach their goals.
If a company really focuses on the gap, it’s usually a red flag.

Of course, it can be a starting point of a conversation and you can then drive the talk towards your career management, skills, and experience, but if they really focus on the gap per se I would say it’s probably not a good company.

4 Likes

I agree with @joaofarias a company that puts too much attention to career gaps should be avoided, as it most likely a toxic environment where they look to exploit people as much as they can.

2 Likes

Hello Haseena,

There’s good advice here from Mirza and João.