CI/CD using dockerised headless selenium WD (or Cypress)

Hello!

I work as a tester in a company that wants to start CI/CD. The plan is to include UI-test automation tests in the CI/CD. We are currently evaluating Selenium WD and Cypress to be dockerised and used on a headless mode.

I locally use selenium WD. I have no clue about how to dockerise it and make it run headless.

I searched the web and found an abundance of articles about how to dockerise selenium WD but I am not sure which one to use since they all mention selenium components that I am not sure that I need.

Is there a definitive guide about how to dockerise selenium WD and run it headless?

Frontend developers in the company prefer Cypress and said that dockerising Cypress was a 15 mins effort. Although I don’t know JS, I am keen on learning JS so that I could start using Cypress.

Has anyone used Selenium WD or Cypress on a headless mode using docker? If yes, please share your experiences.

I would appreciate your help.

Thank you very much!

1 Like

Can you elaborate more about why you want to run in headless mode ?
I can help you at below places:
1.Running selenium in docker container
2.Creating a docker image so you can run that inside a docker container.
3.Running the browsers in headless mode.

You probably need to learn just enough JS to get things done, don’t do a full course, just start a course and learn only whatever bits you get stuck on? Might let you focus on the goal which seems to by Cypress in a container. I would personally go to the Cypress forums, not many people share technical detail on the MOT sadly, so better luck will be had there. Not used Cypress myself, so no idea , but basically once you specify and pass the WD port number and get docker to expose it, you are almost done.