Do or Do Not - There is a Try

I never understood “Do or Do not - There is no Try” - besides the Yoda Quote… obviously (And I do like Yoda ;-)) .

If it’s something I have never done or explored before… I’m TRYing. I’m TESTing. That’s one of the reasons I sometimes exchange the word “test” with Try, Consider, Explore…etc. Depending on the context’ position in the Cynefin model, we try a lot of things to learn from trying.

Is it something UK/US English language use thing not to use the word Try to much? Rather than saying “I will try to remember that” - I should say “I will remember that”. I’ll do that then…

I’ve seen the Yoda quote with regards to motivation - a "just do it" kind of thing. Would it be better to go with Pippi and say “I have never tried that before, so I think I should definitely be able to do that”

1 Like

Hi Jesper! That quote was my moto some time ago. The way how I understand it:
Do it with commitment or don’t do it at all. We do not need someone who is just trying and not really taking responsibility about the actions.

Does it make sense?

Kristine

1 Like

Thank you @kristine. That is a good elaboration. I’m still puzzled by “just trying”, reading that trying new and going outside a comfort zone is not appreciated. But that’s just me ranting :wink:

“If You Judge a Fish by Its Ability to Climb a Tree, It Will Live Its Whole Life Believing that It is Stupid”

1 Like

I get it.
You understand “to try” as leaving comfort zone. Many other understand it as - it is ok if i will fail, I am not really doing this, just trying.

“I will do my best” vs “I will try to do my best”

Because of our discussion checked it in dictionary:

&

Learned a lot of new meanings! Thanks.

1 Like