Feasibilty Report for Choosing The right Desktop Automation Tool

Hi All,

I am a software engineer in Test in a Company which has been using Sikuli for past 20 years. I have managed to get rid of it but we need a new automation tool for it .We have moved all our sikuli tests to manual tests which is costing us alot of manual resources leaving us no time for exploratory or self learning processes.
I got help from various sessions in MOT and I decided to go ahead with the Ranorex for the trial period.
But there is something new out there known as RPA , Robotic Process Automation.
I have been looking into RPA aswell using the UI Path.
RPA focuses on automating the Business processes using modern AI .

I have created a basic case study listing its both Pros.
In our current QA team we have 4 Testers who are interested in progressing towards automation but remaining 3 testers are bit how I can say is not comfortable with the term automation since it includes coding.
We have really good Unit tests in our product but when it comes to E2E tests or business processes automation or testing that we donot have automated.
How can I create an effective case for my decision for either of the tools ? What criterias can make the most impact when making the decision?
I have created an SOS within my company for the automation of the boring,monotous tests that we have to do twice in a week in the form of smoke testing.

4 Likes

RPA tools, firstly are not testing tools, they are “process tools”. When I used Ranorex, I found it was a lot of work to maintain, mainly the people budget for automation is high, it’s often higher than you think, and often it can be very high if you write your own framework. We don’t need new frameworks, we just need ones that grow while we grow.