Gherkin - when is a scenario too big?

I am rather new to Cucumber/Gherkin and came across a situation with selenium eCommerce tests where I could include multiple tests into one scenario to hit them all at once, instead of having X amount of different tests. Which led me to think “When is this scenario too big?”

I’ve been back and forth on it, since a large Scenario can cover a lot of ground, but can also lead to being more error prone, harder to read, and time consuming per run (especially if you only need to test one thing). But on the other hand, separating a test into multiple which only have one or two minor differences, can feel like a waste of time and energy, lead to extra maintainability, and add up to a lot of tests throughout a feature.

Is there a general rule of thumb to how many steps a test should be?

2 Likes

In cases where several scenarios are very similar to each other, you can consider using a scenario outline instead of the scenario. That way you can have a table with variables where each row can be considered a separate scenario.

Take a look at this simple calculator example, instead of having separate scenarios for each calculation option, we would just practically pass them as variables.

Feature: Calculator
  As a user
  I want to use a calculator to add numbers
  So that I don't need to add myself

Scenario Outline: Add two numbers <num1> & <num2>
    Given I have a calculator
    When I add <num1> and <num2>
    Then the result should be <total>

Examples: 
    | num1 | num2 | total |
    | -2 | 3 | 1 |
    | 10 | 15 | 25 |
    | 99 | -99 | 0 |
    | -1 | -10 | -11 |

Check out the Cucumber docs for a bit more details:
https://cucumber.io/docs/gherkin/reference/#scenario-outline

1 Like