Advice on writing better Cucumber Gherkin scenarios

Hi all,

Apologies in advance if I am asking this question in the wrong section, I must admit I am a new member so I am new to all this!

I do have a question which unfortunately I am not sure who to ask (I do not have any mentor or such, and since this concerns our team, I suppose they are leaning towards this approach)

We have an E2E automation project in our company, which is using Cypress but with Cucumber wrapped into it.
However I feel we are not following the best practice of Cucumber scenarios

According to the official Cucumber documentation - Writing better Gherkin - Cucumber Documentation
A good practice is doing something such as this

When "Bob" logs in

Whereas a not so good one is something like this

Given I visit "/login"
  When I enter "Bob" in the "user name" field
    And I enter "tester" in the "password" field
    And I press the "login" button
  Then I should see the "welcome" page

My dilemma is, we are doing the not so good way. This is a simple scenario, in our case its even worse because literally every button click and every assertion is a “step”, so its very common to see 1 scenario to consist of about 20-30 steps.

My problem with this is a couple of things

• Maintainability/readability - I’ve always thought this is the biggest benefit of Cucumber Gherkin scenarios. But with the way we do things, While its quite easy to reproduce the steps, its very hard to imagine or understand what this scenario is trying to do (imagine 20 steps of click this, click that, see this, see that)
  • The way we do things right now “works”, in a sense that tests are running fine, however I feel like we are adding another layer of complication by wrapping Cypress with Cucumber scenarios. In my opinion, what we are doing can easily be achieved using Cypress if we do things in such way, hence we don’t really need to wrap it with Cucumber (since we are not doing it the proper way anyway).