How do you get your engineers to add comprehensive test coverage and stick to patterns?

I’m fairly new to QA on my team and am finding it hard to get the engineers to stick to guidelines which ends up with lots of back and forth when they raise PRs. How are people approaching this to avoid slack tennis? Does anyone else find this challenging?

3 Likes

Welcome to the community where we want to celebrate the best thing since sliced bread every day. Ha Ha.

@savagetoast I am assuming you mean getting your automation test engineers to stick to guidelines, or do you mean product coders to stick to test-writing standards? But either way, it’s challenging. I mean code coverage is almost never what it’s cracked up to be. Whenever we measure a thing to death, we kill it. One just has to look at the example in agriculture where maximizing crop yield in the short term with simplified monoculture processes stresses not only the soil, but actively encourages pests who have now found a abundant supply of a thing they love that comes back twice a year, heaven. Good measurements need to account health in your system, and bug-tennis/slack-tennis or PR-tennis is certainly not healthy. My current secret (and this may change) is to work from the inside outwards. We embed the test engineers into dev teams, testers thus go to all meetings, but testers also form cross-functional teams that bridge teams. And having a culture that welcomes experiments as well as rewards discovery. All hard things to do.