How to use AWS for running e2e tests in parallel?

I don’t know much about AWS and I am not a software engineer. What I only know is that AWS can let us create virtual instances of computers on the cloud. I think that can be quite useful for parallel testing of e2e tests which are often slow and flaky. So, I want to figure out what to learn in order to do such parallel testing? Which AWS training or courses can I take? Which other things do I need to know besides AWS?

This is the approach I have in mind for parallel e2e testing -
1 - Deploy the application across multiple large AWS instances. E.g. 10 servers.
2 - Make multiple tiny instances which will run only one or few e2e tests. E.g. 100 personal computers.

Number of parallel e2e tests = 100 PCs * 10 parallel tests per PC = 1000.
Average time per test = 5 minutes.
Time to completed all tests = 5 mins instead of 5 * 1000 = 5000.

The 1000 tests can be split across 10 servers. This sounds quite powerful to me, but I don’t know how to implement it.

4 Likes

which are often slow and flaky

uhm… maybe one should focus on making them faster and more reliable?

what to learn in order to do such parallel testing

that’s usually more a question about the test automation framework, not AWS. usually the bottleneck is no the application but the test runner and in the case of browser based e2e, the browsers. but that might be different in your case. what tech stack are you working with? what makes the tests take 5 minutes to run?

The 1000 tests can be split across 10 servers. This sounds quite powerful to me, but I don’t know how to implement it.

i know of serenity bdd with cucumber which has a mechanism to split the scenarios into 10 similar batches based on runtime and then you could pass 10 different urls as parameter. but for now I doubt that’s the right approach. tell me more about your setup first :slight_smile:

Hey,