Is Product Quality Going Up Or Down?

Does anyone else attempt to answer this question? What do you measure and how?

I’m a new QA Manager of an ecommerce product. My boss has challenged me with determining if the quality of the product-under-test is going up or down (in production) per quarter. I’m a metric hater and really struggling with how to answer this reasonable question.

• My DevOps intuitions take me to the four DORA metrics, but those are more about throughput and stability than product quality.

• My other fallback is bugs found in production (escapes). But I kind of hate that one too b/c as the product grows offering more value (quality), that growing value-to-users may outpace increasing escape amounts.

• This is a global customer facing ecommerce site so user feedback seems like a good quality measure. I’m not sure if we collect it. Surely we must. I’ll ask. Active users per time period. I can get that. Will these two user-facing measures suffice?

What am I missing?

3 Likes

How about asking the testers for their assessment? That’s their job.
Especial the know unknowns and unknown unknowns.
Take same inspirations from the Low Tech Testing Dashboard:

If you cannot trust your testers you have another problem.

Quality is a value to a person. Which is basically an emotional thing.
Metrics might help here, but their are only a tool.
Ask you boss what quality (values) he would be interested in.

4 Likes

Mandatory “it depends on the content”.

But I like your thoughts on quantitative (DORA) and qualitative (feedback).

Figuring out what good quality means might need lots of people’s inputs. If its not already been defined/ thought about.

I imagine something like completed transactions would be interesting

1 Like

“Quality is value to some person (who matters)” - Jerry Weinberg’s quote adapted by Michael Bolton & James Bach.