Mobile testing installed apps, process and methodologies

Hello,
My name if Rtest, it has been a while since I have reached out to the test community. I need some help updating my testing methodology and processes. I have been testing an install client app on mobile devices for several years now. Both Android and IOS. I lead a small group of 4 QA testers in India. We rely heavily on manual test cases and use Qmetry to store and track our test cases and suites.
We are an Agile shop and practice Kanban and daily stand ups for the QA team and weekly check ins with the S/W developers. I have done some exploring with automation with Appium, Cucumber, Ruby and Java, but find cross platform testing with Android and IOS to be time consuming with large maintenance of tests. Is testing UI/UX better suited to testers and Manual testing?
We current maintain a device inventory of legacy devices and OS and as well as current popular devices that is quickly consuming our annual test budget . Testing Real devices and OS is a good practice but comes at a cost.
I am looking to see what others are doing for mobile testing of Installed apps (not browser). Devices, Device Farms online, simulators, automation, methodologies and process.
This sounds like a lot to ask, I know. But I would like to get my projects up to the 2021/22 thinking. I think I am stuck in the pastā€¦
Best Regards
Rtest

2 Likes

Not just you Buddy, not just you.