PMP Certification worth in QA?

I have 12 Years of experience in QA Automation in multiple skill-sets. Is it worth to achieve PMP Certification for QA Manager role? Please suggest, Thanks!!

1 Like

Hi @nagar

Perhaps it would help us a bit if you shared what you are hoping to get out of the PMP certification?

1 Like

Hi @mwinteringham
Currently I am working as QA Automation Lead, now I am planning to move to next ladder ‘QA Manager’. So I am eager to know, is there any weightage of PMP Certification for achieving ‘QA Manager’ role or getting QA Automation technology certification help me for same. Please suggest

I have led several projects/products in different roles(automation, testing, business, and technical operations, support). I am as well looking into a manager role as a step up in my career.

Here are what questions I got in a recent interview(second round with the Head of the department, an Architect, and a Project Manager) at the biggest bank in Switzerland, the largest wealth management company in the world:

• Have you managed people in different locations and cultures (offshore in different continents/time zones)? Would this be a problem for you to collaborate with them? Give me examples from the past of how you have dealt with situations like this.
  • Do you have experience in managing people? What would you do if a tester came to you and asked for a raise otherwise she’ll quit?
  • How would you take care of people’s careers? How would you solve a conflict between testers or test and other people?
  • Have you been part of and led a testing guild(organized and led training, workshops, and talks)?
  • You’re supposed to test for half of the time and manage a team of 10, how would you balance it?
  • Can you tell me about a time were you organized, planned, and created a testing strategy for a large-scale project?