[QA Rookie] Help with specific QA job interview questions

Hey, guys.

Rookie QA tester from Sweden over here. Got a QA interview coming up for a game company I’d really like to join, and want to give it my best. I’m still learning about QA so some questions that they regularly ask on the interviews (did some research) are a bit tricky to me. I would be happy to see what you guys would have answered (and why) - not to brainlessly copy your answers, but to see the thought process behind it. I’m probably not getting the job anyway (still a student), but I still want to nail down these questions and learn new things even if I eventually end up being rejected.

EDIT: Removing the questions. I didn’t want to have them visible for too long, in case they may have been personalized for my friend who sent me the questions over. Thank you for the answers down below, pretty helpful.

1 Like

Questions (1), (2), and (4) are purely context-driven. The info given is at least shallow.

The phrases “has been changed or updated”, “timing is everything on this release”, “an agile project” can mean a million different things.

I would suggest coming up with a story narrowing the meaning of these phrases and only answering. There are no facts outside of a story, and the questions just came up with facts.

This question worries me, as testers SHOULDN’T be responsible for this.

We can advise, but we aren’t gate keepers. That is what the project manager is for, as they oversee the entire project. This assumes a waterfall project, where if it’s an agile team, then the entire team would decide this, no singular person.

Personally, I’d rather delay the release then cut corners, as if it is that regimented an organisation, it is likely they have a blame culture and finger pointing, and when it comes back to testing missing things by cutting corners, that is who will be blamed.

3 Likes