Recording video upon ui test failure (for a total noob)

Hi all! So I am somewhat of a noob that’s been left a massive task of making our UI automation less brittle and easier to debug what’s going on. Currently, it takes a screenshot upon failure but this is very limited unless it’s a hard error.

The devs at my company are really busy and it seems impossible to get time with them to sit and go through this. I guess if I can get it working, it will be good for the CV anyway :slight_smile:

I’ve been doing a couple C# courses so I’m ok at coding and have written a few stable UI tests; but this subject feels a little over my head so I need someone to explain it like I’m 5. On the Slack channel #automation I was advised to use FFmpeg but the google searches I’ve done haven’t been that helpful in explaining how to actually go about implement it.

Tech stack:
C#
SpecFlow
Selenium
We use POM & Page Factory if that makes a difference
TeamCity (But in the future I want to move this to our Azure devops pipeline to take advantage of MS Devops test suite)

ANY help would really be appreciated, even if it’s just sending me the articles I need to know.

Sorry for being such a noob.

Kind regards
Sam

3 Likes

Don’t apologise for asking questions :heart: We learn by asking questions and sharing with each other and you’re on a learning journey :grin:

1 Like

okay, i’m digging myself a hole here, but no you are not a noob, that’s my job. I’m a bit new to web based testing and still getting into it but selenium makes it dead easy to make screenshots. I also wrote a blog about page-objects, but in Python, not specflow…but one thing I did while doing this was prototyped screenshotting and converting to a movie.