Seeking some mentoring or useful tips to improve chances of landing my first IT job

Hey everyone!

I’m a 28 year-old film graduate who has been working in a the media field for 3-4 years but is now taking steps to change careers into IT .

After looking at career paths I decided testing would be an exciting venture. Currently I have passed my ISTQB exam and am striving to be put on crowdtesting projects with no luck. The only real-world exposure I have with testing would be the Guru99 live project.

I am looking to ‘beef up’ my CV with as much experience as I can and secure my first IT testing role within 4 months.

I’d be delighted to recieve any feedback/mentoring on my email Jasonaustinbhatti@gmail.com or on this thread.

Thank you for reading and have a nice day! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

First off, welcome @jason_austin to MoT! :slight_smile:

You’ll find a lot of information here about testing. Where are you from by the way?
This might not bump up your resume but: Testing Challenges it’s always fun to do!

About bumping up your resume, where are you from? I know people in Belgium are always looking for ISTQB’s but other countries might have different requirements. Getting into test automation will bump up your resume, so I’m not sure how technical you are?

Always happy to help with testing! <3

Kind regards
Kristof

2 Likes

I wrote a blog post on this topic a while ago:

Since you already mentioned trying crowd testing, another thing I can recommend is to try getting into an internship, if you can get someone who is working as a tester to recommend you this could help you get in.

1 Like