Selenium Page Object Model

I am rewriting a Selenium project I have previously written in Java. I am really a beginner, but I am upgrading it and am using Maven as well as using the Page Object Model for my project.

I have created two packages as src/main/java/tests and src/main/java/pages. Is it standard practice to initialise the WebDriver within the src/main/java/tests package or should you place it src/main/java or even entirely separately? The code for Initializing the WebDriver and passing the users data to login uses a series of arrays and is therefore rather large so it would probably not have an associated Page with the Pages package. Are there any naming conventions for this initializing/base Java file or where it should be stored?

Thanks

2 Likes

Hi welcome to the ministry of test community.