Tech and tools for your podcast

I was wondering what tech and tools you use for your podcast.

The Testing Peers are pretty new to the game and as such we haven’t yet had the chance to invest more into tech and tools. We are using our own day-to-day headsets, recording over Zoom and editing in Audacity.

We plan on getting some better mics in the future.

What tech and tools do you use?

I’ve seen Anchor pop up a few times in discussions like this. I’ve no personal experience using it but listen to podcasts that do and am curious to explore it more.

1 Like

I use Zencastr. It’s a hit hit and miss at times and the free version is limited to how long you can record.

I’ve had instances where the local copy hasn’t uploaded to the server but in terms of using a tool to get a feel for recording, it’s quite good.

2 Likes

For remote interviews, ask the other party to record themselves on their own phone and send you the file, the audio should be so much better than Zoom, it’s a common tool reporters use. I would suggest stick with using Audacity and buy myself a H1 zoom, or if you have more cash, the H2 or H4 zoom recorder is really very sweet device for podcasts recorded in noisy environments like cafes. https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07KXV2NWW/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_x_boSfFb0FYZA7F A dedicated recording device is better than your phone mainly because it removes distraction and is more reliable if you use the device often and get familiar with remembering to charge the battery etc. Often you need 2 microphones, and this fills that role very well.