Testing Checklists

(Andrew) #1

Hi,

Bit of context here, I am a lone QA Analyst on a team of 13 developers and looking for ways to spread my testing capabilities across the team as easily as possible. We have 2 major web properties that are used primarily for marketing purposes. Both are managed through a in-house content management system (CMS).

Does anyone out there have any exposure to checklists for testing. Specifically the dev team has requested a set of standards and “things to test” when checking in their code so we can reduce the amount of time spent back and forth between pull requests. As an example here are some possible categories of testing I might expect them to cover off before submitting a pull request:

Styling/Content Related

• Responsiveness Testing (does it display as expected in supported browsers)

Form Tests

• Error conditions (what values produce an error)
  • Min, Max characters
  • Types of characters allowable

Date Selector

• Date ranges allowable
  • Specific dates not allowable
  • Responsiveness (does it work in supported browsers)

Does anyone have suggestions on my approach? Do you think a checklist is a good start? Any categories you think are a must for a checklist?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Andrew

0 Likes

(Ola) #2

Hello Andrew,

I have not tried checklists for involving developers in testing. My go to approach have instead been testing tours.I have found them to be a good way to divide the test effort and to help the developers to test different dimensions of the product. Some tours that have been good are:

• Feature Tour - Map all the features of the product
  • Variability Tour - Change all things that can be changed
  • Claims Tour - See what to product says it can do and do it
  • Super Model Tour - Only look at the superficial elements of the product
  • User Tour - Pretend to be a specific user with a specific use case in mind and do that