Very important Question about choosing a language for automation

Hi everyone
I need information about if you were to learn a language to use for writing automated tests what language would you choose (of course in this case I don’t know what language is used in my future work) I have access to the code and I know the concept but what would be very useful to learn, just To mention, I have been working as a QA for 23 years and every time at work I learn a little bit of everything but do not use it because there is no opportunity, but this time I decided that I want to specialize in one of the languages.

2 Likes

It depends a bit. But I would follow the same language as the project. Considering you will work in the same repository, you can easily reuse util functions and add data-testids without much effort. Also, based in the tools (such as cypress and playwright) I’d say javascript/typescript is the way to go.
In the end it all comes down to your preference and how comfortable you are with the specific language.

Hello and welcome!

I answered a similar question about learning coding in general with some ideas that I think will apply here too

Long story short: it doesn’t matter that much. You’ll have to pivot to a new language based on what your company uses, which is often based on what the developers already use and the kind of program you’re writing checks for.

Use any suitable example to learn the concepts behind coding and automation, then pivot to the new system.

Also the testing side of automation is important to understand. Automation is just tools used to help testing, so deciding on what to put into automation is important. An understanding of what automation is good at, what it can do, what adds to costs of writing and maintenance, what is worth repeating, what change does, what makes automation valuable and what makes it flaky and expensive. That’s powerful knowledge to take into a coding project.

2 Likes

I agree with @lufis.