What are Software Quality Metrics?

What are Software Quality Metrics? How can you track them?

2 Likes

This is a very open ended question.

Before I start jumping into a detailed answer, it would be useful to know what you want to know?

Do you want to:

1. Gain an academic knowledge to further your understanding or work towards a qualification (homework)
  2. Measure and evaluate a product that you know to have problems in order to identify useful parts of the software to improve (engineering)
  3. Gain an understanding of how to measure and articulate the perceived quality of a product where either you haven’t already made a judgment or you are making a comparison with a competing product (research)

In any case, I would ask who is the target audience for the metrics and is there a goal you are hoping to achieve by collecting them? This will help you choose metrics that are useful.

3 Likes

HI Ben . Thank you so much for your response. I am new to Software Testing. While learning about Quality I came across this term. So I wanted to know more about what exactly it is.

1 Like

Hi Yogita,

I’ve found 3 articles you might find useful:

1 Like

Thanks Ben. I will go through the articles.

1 Like

Software Quality means different things to different people. A CEO looks at a completely different set of parameters for Quality than a Test Manager does. So does the development manager, and the customer.

From your question, it sounds like you are starting off with learning what quality metrics are. I would ask you for what purpose you would like to learn them. Is it because your team/manager wants you to learn them? Or is it out of your own curiosity?

Depending on the purpose, the quality metrics will vary. As Ben said, look at your target audience and their needs. Accordingly, you can come up with your metrics towards your success factors.

Hope that helps, and do feel free to ask further questions!

1 Like