What would you prioritize to break into software testing with no experience?

Hello!
I am brand new to this lovely community and have recently learned of Software Testing. I have always wanted to get into tech but couldn’t find anything that excited me until now!

I have very limited tech experience and so I am curious what I should prioritize learning to make my resume stand out. Also, what jobs do you recomment I apply for?

Thank you!

6 Likes

Welcome!

That’s a difficult question. In some countries or areas or industries or company sizes (etc) it is far easier to become a check processor than a tester. By that I mean someone who verifies some facts based on instructions they are given (test cases), or writing coded examples that give small amounts of evidence that certain behaviours are consistent over time (“automation”), or other quite annoying or boring ways to work (“in my opinion”).

So it might be that developing yourself into a context-driven expert tester gives you happiness and confidence and the ability to test anything, anywhere… but then restricts what you’re willing to put up with because the jobs may be very prescriptive (and proscriptive).

Conversely learning how to use “automation” tools may give you more chance of landing a role, but that role is more likely to be very programming heavy and tuned almost exclusively to capability tests with fact checks combined with maintenance work. Some people love coding all day, I personally think that it lacks variety.

People other than me will be better suited to tell you about current CV trends, but what any company wants is someone that’s on board. Finding someone that takes an interest in their work. And your challenge is then to find someone who provides interesting work, on top of the pay and opportunities for improvement.