Why is 3 day course mandated to undertake ISTQB Advanced Test Automation Engineer Certification

Hello Guys,
This is my first post in Ministry of Testing
Hope you all are doing well and Safe.

I am an automation engineer and have been in testing professional for last 13 years. I have completed my ISTQB foundation level examination few years ago and now am interested in undertaking ISTQB® Certified Tester Advanced Level - Test Automation Engineer.

I have accessed the BCS website for the same . However it seems you are required to undergo mandatory training of 3 days to undertake this exam.

What I am concerned about is I have been home studying and training myself for this examination, and it feels the partners at BCS are forcing me to take 3 days of theoretical training and than allow me to take examination. I remember when I undertook my foundation course I had an option to take the exam directly without needing to go through the training course.

The cost of examination is around ÂŁ385 however the course of training + exam is around ÂŁ1800. Is this appropriate especially when the BCS website mentions training course as recommended and not mandatory. So they should allow me to undertake the exam without needing to go through the course.

Please advise if anyone has an idea about this.

2 Likes

?
I can just purchase a exam voucher for automation engineer without buying the training.
You might want to take a look at the A/ISTQB site itself.

You can always study the course, yourself: https://www.istqb.org/certification-path-root/test-automation-engineer.html

Also £385 might seem a bit off since it’s 250 usd

3 Likes

Thank you @kristof for the information. I have checked the ASTQB board and that is the US Testing board for US. As I am based in UK , I need to follow the instructions as per UKITB

In UK there are 2 exam providers for UKITB : BCS and iSQI