Need Suggestion - ISTQB certification

Hi Folks,

I have worked as a QA engineer for last 10+ years. My current role is as a Senior Software QA Engineer. I was looking at ISQTB certifications, but unsure which one to do. I have never done ISTQB certification. My questions are:

1. Should I do Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) v4.0 [NEW!] OR Certified Tester Advanced Level Test Manager (CTAL-TM)? My reasoning for the advanced level is that I have many years of experience in QA.

2. I feel I should do Certified Tester Advanced Level Test Manager (CTAL-TM). But I see that there is min requirement to finish the foundation level first. Is that true?

3. Should I take formal training and appear on the exam to get the certification, OR should I learn from the online material and take the exam? That way, I am not paying for the training and still getting the certificate after the exam.

4. Is it worth spending so much money on these certifications? Does this certification help in landing a job or at work?

Please share your experiences, and I appreciate any advice on this.

3 Likes

Unless something changed, I know that the Foundation level is a pre-requisite for all the other ISTQB certifications. I got the foundations level because my current company at the time was paying for it and it was one of the requirements for anyone in the QA career path.

One of the reasons why I bailed out of there was because they expected all the testers to decide which ISTQB certificate they wanted to take next since it was an outsourcing company working for enterprises that were doing more traditional kinds of testing. I don’t think you should spend money on training, the official syllabus, some mock exams, and books should suffice.