How do you make a career change to software testing?

I am considering making a career change to software testing and becoming some type of entry-level QA tester. To start my discernment process, I spoke to my neighbor who has been a software developer for over 20 years. He thought becoming a junior QA tester would be a possible starting point for me because I have no education, training, or experience in this field. I am as green as you can be. (At best, I have a college degree in liberal arts.) My neighbor spoke to the QA lead at his company who advised me to starting doing research around what QA is, how to write test cases, how to execute test cases, and how to create a test plan/strategy. Guru99 was recommended to me.

Guru99 did provide some good information, however, I am unsure where to go from here. I have spoken to some other people and read forums and other guides online that suggested earning some type of industry certification would be helpful for my situation. One of the recommended certifications appears to be the International Software Tester Qualification Board’s (ISTQB) Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) v. 4.0. This certifications appears to address everything that the QA lead at my neighbor’s company recommended described above.

Should I earn the ISTQB CTFL? I would think that creating some type of portfolio and/or volunteering to help others complete projects would be more important to a hiring manager than a certification. An internship would probably help too. However, I have to start somewhere and learn the foundations. I am wondering if this certification really matters. Given where I live in the United States (close to Washington, DC), I imagine anything would be helpful against my competition. I have found the IT market as a whole to be hypercompetitive in my area. There are many government contractors in my state (Maryland) who do business with the federal government and have specific requirements for work.

3 Likes