Your First Testing Job vs Now

I’ve just read a blog post this morning “Testing in a team (then and now)” which sparked a bit of retrospection in me. Even in my pretty short time in the testing world, my first job vs what I’m doing now is very different.

My first job was so waterfall you could almost say it was dammed. They’d been working on a release for 5 years before I joined (for a year) and it still wasn’t released. It was a great learning environment though :grin:

More recently I was working in a continuous deployment house which was a completely different ball game but again, an excellent learning experience.

What about you? What differences are there between your first testing job and your current one?

3 Likes

Hey! Interesting read! Yup for me the testing back then & the testing now is different, as well, but with kinda opposite experience.

I am a developer & tester (doing both on & off). The first project that I joined as a tester was a great experience. It was a governmental website, and they had the mentality that it should be accessible by all (including people with special needs, people with low internet connection etc). So in terms of UX, Accessibility, Security, Performance, Responsiveness,Cross-platform, Automated testing everything was included! QA was first & then new features! We even had ZDD on kubernetes and that is almost 3 years ago. I learned so much!
Every other project I have joined since then, is just not enough. I raise tickets about how inaccessible or how not user-friendly some things are and the PO closes them immediately. Not enough time & budget for those. I sometimes, don’t know what to raise and what not anymore.

1 Like

Your first place sounds amazing!

I guess all you can do is raise it with people and advocate for the bugs you raise. Unfortunately, accessibility and user experience seem to fall by the wayside in many places :frowning:

1 Like

Hallo,

I am learning java to be tester. I have started 2 weeks ago.