Feedback for MOT - Improving the prerequisites for talks or webinars

Suggestions:

1 - Please include the prerequisites in the course registration web page itself.
MOT has started sending prerequisites by email after registration which is a bit late. It is also unnecessary email. Please send emails only if the prerequisites get updated on the course page. Moreover, if people don’t know the prerequisites, then they are unlikely to take the course even when they should. People need to be sure if they can take 2+ hours out of their calendar for a course.

2 - Give detailed info about the prerequisites.
Bad example - Basics of Javascript.
Good example - Basics of JS, clojures, event handling and the DOM, familiarity with unit testing in any object oriented language.

Consider this course for example link. It says that I need to know basics of JS which is a bit vague for a beginner to JS. I recently started learning JS from a “basic” course, but I haven’t completed the course. So, I don’t know if the knowledge I have currently is enough to attend the workshop.

I believe that addressing these concerns would help users to avoid registering when they don’t have the prerequisites.

1 Like

Hey Raghu, thanks for taking the time to send us some feedback, something we greatly value.

1. We always try and show the pre-reqs but sometimes the instructor doesn’t always have them ready, or want to make sure the attendees have the latest versions. With regard to the email, pre-reqs is just one purpose of the email.
    I do like the idea of sending specific emails for when pre-reqs change, I’ll give that some more thought.

2. While on one hand I can see your stance here, granular can help, on the other hand granular can never stop. We feel that majority of our members are happy or understand the term basic. I don’t see us changing this.