Felt lost for a long time, but found my desire to start a new career in TESTING

Hello everyone!

My name is Kenney and I’m from Queens, New York, USA.

To give a bit of a backstory, I graduated college in 2014 with a degree in cinema technology; I wanted to work for a movie studio or in post-production; unfortunately I never found myself landing a position in the field. I decided to set out and enter the workforce, trying to find something steady but again nothing stable. I worked simple temp jobs throughout next couple of years and even had a failed admission to a Master program.
I felt depressed and had no hope for the future, but I never stopped looking.
I eventually found myself in a temp position for an IT department; doing the most basic of manual labor and the my work ethic caught the attention of the director and he offered me an opportunity to work with the Quality Assurance manager. Here the Quality Assurance manager gave me a couple of assignments on finding and catching bugs for a webpage. I had no experience in testing and never written a line of code before; which made me nervous, but the QA Manager assured me that he only expected me to find errors through manual testing. I was very detailed on my written “steps to reproduce”, which made the QA Manager grateful and from there he and the IT director had decided to offer me a position as a QA tester.

Now that I have landed a job as a QA tester, my goal now is to get a better understand of the field and position as a whole. I currently am still working as a manual tester only finding bugs through the UI of webpages, but I know I want to excel and become quite knowledgeable of the Quality Assurance process so that I will be able to become a QA Engineer and eventually a skilled Test Automation Engineer.