Greetings! and Hello!

Hi :wave:

My name is Andrew Meyer

I’ve been a Test Engineer for half a year

I joined Ministry of Testing to Learn and meet others in my field.
I enjoy reading, art, and comics(Manga) hope to learn and get along well with you all

7 Likes

Hello Andrew. Welcome to the Club! Happy learning

4 Likes

A very warm welcome to you, @rameyer. And thanks for posting an intro. Good to Club-meet you. :smile:

Whenever the timing is good for you, I’d love to learn about some of the challenges you’ve faced in the first 6 months of your career as a testing professional.

See you around.

3 Likes

Welcome to MOT. Look around. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Welcome @rameyer to MoT!

What is thy field? :wink: What kind of QA are you into? :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you for the warm welcome!
I can definitely say my biggest challenge is with people. From explaining my job and defending my position to my coworkers; To explaining my tests and why I did them. It seems the I.T. Office culture of withholding information or details so people keep having to come to you as some form of job security is my biggest enemy. This also carries into plans, and agendas from what people want to what Time allows or permits. I admit that satisfying my gluttony for information that ties into my job is often my desire, but one I feel is necessary.

3 Likes

I am currently the only full Test Engineer in the company I work for, of course, many of the Developers do their own bit of testing, but because of this, I try to cover all forms of QA in my projects. I do as much as they allow.

2 Likes

Thank you I hope to learn much,
With that in mind, I am curious about how to get more experience, what would you recommend be a good place to start looking? Given your experience what were some of the best projects that helped you improve and grow in this field?

1 Like
  • If you want to get into automation, Test Automation University has got a wide selection of free courses available.